My more ambitious short story. (Fin)

Durandal!

12:43 AM.

I'm still a stranger to this area. In fact I couldn't remember the name of the city we were currently in when we decided to cut our sightseeing visit of our new home state short. I could hear the white noise of traffic rushing by us as I helped him into the passenger seat of the beat up rust heap I called a car. The sidewalk was still wet from the rain we had gotten 3 hours prior to leaving the bar. It was the only reason we stopped in there in the first place. The smell of the place made me a bit nostalgic for home. But I was sure that would pass. All bars have the same smell. The same people. The same beer. The same guy wearing a flannel coat that will hit on the hostess for hours on end. Subtlety isn't a strong point for the kind of people that hang out in places like this. And this one was pretty tame compared to the kinds of places Mike would drag me to when we were in college.

Mike, a musician by trade, was the only reason I live here. We met in a buisness management class about seven years ago. Good friends ever since. And when he offered me a place in his new apartment when he moved to do studio work with some band, I couldn't resist. My old hometown was too busy for a guy like me. Almost thirty, I had no reason to stay there anymore. But it's a weird feeling of upheaval to travel halfway across the country to start a new life. Especially with no large motive.

But I couldn't complain. We had just moved into the second story of a relatively rural area. About 45 minutes out of a major city. The city we were supposed to be looking at when the weather turned to shit. We stopped into some bar, the name of it escapes me. And here we are now. I had a good buzz going. Mike was completely hammered. "Never go half, man." That was his motto. Then again he was in no condition to talk right now. He just collapsed into the passenger seat, and closed his eyes again and went into his own little world.

1:34 AM.