The Seeker (SW FanFic) (Chapter 4 posted)

handofthrawn

Hey everyone. I haven't written a fanfiction in a long time, but I recently came across a very interesting idea, and last night I worked up a prologue. So, if you're interested, bear with me here. I'll write this as I go, so it might not be polished, but I'm a fair writer, so let's give this a shot. I don't have a lot of time to work on it, but I figure if I put the prologue in here, it'll make me accountable to write more.

Anyway, no more stalling.

Prologue

The H is the important one, because it stands for Historian.

I awoke with a start and looked around me, a whirring sound audible all around me. Questions filled my head. Who am I? Where am I? What does the H mean again? I held still for a moment and tried to let the answers come to me. The whirring noise stopped, and slowly the answers surfaced like I had heard them in a dream. But what was a dream? Wasn't it induced by sleep? Had I been asleep?

I was Hal-something. Maybe just Hal. It would do, I noted, as I waited for the rest of the answers to come. I once again noted my environment, and the whirring sound came back as I did so. I was horizontal on some sort of platform. High above me was a plain metal sheet--probably the ceiling, I figured. On either side of me were the platform edges, and beyond them were more platforms in orderly rows in a large, plain metal room. On some of the platforms were androids in various states of disrepair. I noted that they were protocol droids of some new model.

I did know where I was after all. I was in the factory. I was on Mechis III. Why was I here?