Titles (a discussion)

Amidala Skywalker

I have a question for all of you guys. How do you come up with titles for you work? I have the hardest time with titles. The only title I've ever really liked for any of my fics was for Twinkling of an Eye, which I got from a quote from one of Jedi Kiara's fics that I really felt reflected a theme in my own story. But, for another example, I have been writing a novel for the last four years, and I'm still no closer to coming up with a good, intruiging, attention-grabbing, piece-reflective title.

What do you guys do? Do you have any secret sources of inspiration?

amipaint2.jpg

SHE MEANS TO END US ALL!!! DOOOOOOOOMMMMMM!!!!!!!!11eleventyone!
There goes Ami's reputation of being a peaceful, nice person.

My own method of coming up with titles is rather uninspired. I favour half-aphorisms which hint at the plot of my stories, as in "hell hath no fury" and "tell no tales", but other than those two, the titles are often just bland descriptions. I am pleased with those two titles, however.

Geki1.jpg

http://www.themire.co.uk-- being a veracious and lurid account of the goings-on in the savage Mire and the sootblown alleys of Portstown's Rookery!

Honestly, and this sounds weird, but with my AOS fanfic, I don't think of a chapter title until I'm completely finished, and often as I'm posting the finished product, I'll just come up with something right then and there. I've taken a page from Robert Jordan, who often has seemingly bland titles such as The Fires of Heaven or The Shadow Rising. I think it's sort of cool to have a title indicate that something is going to happen, such as Advent of Shadows. It says something dark is on the horizon. That's just telling enough. I don't think they need to be all that flashy.